Tri-City Voice Newspaper - What's Happening - Fremont, Hayward, Milpitas, Newark, Sunol and Union City, California


November 15, 2016 > Measure E Citizens Bond Oversight Committee update

Measure E Citizens Bond Oversight Committee update

Submitted By Robin Michel

I am here for three reasons, said Dr. James Morris, Fremont Unified School District (FUSD) Superintendent, speaking to the FUSD Measure E CitizensÕ Bond Oversight Committee (CBOC) at its November 2 meeting. ÒThe first is to say thank you to this committee. Each of you has put in an incredible amount of time, effort and energy on behalf of Measure E. We went to this community and asked them to pass what was at the time the largest bond in the County.Ó

Dr. Morris, who was also speaking on behalf of the Board of Education and its President, Larry Sweeney, said that they are grateful for the commitment and trust the community has shown to students and the district through the passage of the bond. ÒIn spite of a few bumps in the road, Measure E has been incredibly successful so far,Ó said Dr. Morris. During its first two years of implementation, new classroom addition projects were created to address the dramatic enrollment growth the district has and will continue to experience. This has resulted in beautiful new buildings at three elementary schools and one high school, with buildings currently under construction at three more campuses. ÒYes,Ó said Dr. Morris, ÒWe are staying true to that original project list and true to our commitments to the community.Ó

Passed in June 2014, Measure E is the districtÕs $650 million general obligation bond. School districts, by law, are obligated to establish an independent CBOC in order to satisfy the accountability requirements of Proposition 39 (2002). Committees are appointed by the Board of Education and must include at least seven members who represent different stakeholder groups.

The Measure E CBOC was formed in September 2014, and five members recently completed their first term. At its October 13, 2016, meeting, the Board appointed members Kathryn McDonald, who has been serving as an alternate, and Jim Hunt. Three members were also reappointed to serve another term: Dax Choksi, Bryan Gephardt and Anu Natarajan.

The CBOC welcomed new and returning members, and held elections for a new slate of officers for the upcoming year:
áChair: Bryan Gebhardt
áVice chair: Dave Pepper
áParliamentarian: Anu Natarajan
áSecretary: Sally Morgan
áPublicity Chair: Kathryn McDonald

Others on the committee include: Jeff Bowen, Ashok Desai, Maria Torres and Eric Tsai. To learn more about the Measure E CitizensÕ Bond Oversight Committee, please visit the District website at and click on Measure E, CitizensÕ Bond Oversight Committee.

Home        Protective Services Classifieds   Community Resources   Archived Issues  
About Us   Advertising   Comments   Subscribe   TCV Store   Contact

Tri Cities Voice What's Happening - click to return to home page

Copyright © 2018 Tri-City Voice