Tri-City Voice Newspaper - What's Happening - Fremont, Hayward, Milpitas, Newark, Sunol and Union City, California


October 18, 2011 > Alameda County selects two for Teachers of Year

Alameda County selects two for Teachers of Year

Submitted By Claudia Medina

The Alameda County Office of Education hosted its annual Teacher of the Year Award ceremony on October 6, honoring eighteen teachers from school districts throughout Alameda County. Nearly 300 people participated in a joyous evening celebrating Alameda County's finest teachers.

Tom Collett, representing Newark Unified School District, and Karen McMahon, representing Pleasanton/ Tri-Valley ROP, received the coveted honor of County Teachers of the Year and will move on to compete for the California Teacher of the Year title.

Every year ACOE, honors, recognizes and celebrates Alameda County teachers' for their excellence in classroom instruction. The honor and significance of the award will be throughout the 2011/2012 school year.

The following is a listing of the 2011 District teachers of the year (in order by district):

Alameda COE: Aixa Caraballo, Burke Center; Alameda USD: Elizabeth Young, Washington Elementary School; Berkeley USD (team teachers): Hillary Mitchell and Kimberly Burton, Washington Elementary School; Castro Valley USD: Tina Johansson, Creekside Middle School; Dublin USD: Jan Cohen, Wells Middle School; Emery USD: Tarsha Jordan, Anna Yates Elementary School; Fremont USD: Lewis Kilcrease, Walters Junior High School; Hayward USD: Diane Shepherd, Bowman Elementary School; Livermore VJ USD: Linda Stevens, Rancho Las Positas Elementary School; New Haven USD: Julie Panebianco, James Logan High School; Newark USD: Tom Collett, Newark Junior High School; Oakland USD: Lissette Averhoff, ACORN Woodland Elementary School; Oakland USD: Lisa Hiltbrand, Urban Promise Academy; Pleasanton USD: JoAnn Koobatian, Foothill High School; San Leandro USD: Heather DiMaggio, James Madison Elementary School; San Lorenzo USD: Glenna Wurm-Hayenga, San Lorenzo High School; Sunol USD: Suzette Takei, Sunol Glen School; Fremont| Mission Valley ROP: Mari Moschetti, Kennedy High School; Pleasanton| Tri-Valley ROP: Karen McMahon, Horizon Continuation High School; San Lorenzo| Eden Area ROP: Christina Charlton, Arroyo High School.

Home        Protective Services Classifieds   Community Resources   Archived Issues  
About Us   Advertising   Comments   Subscribe   TCV Store   Contact

Tri Cities Voice What's Happening - click to return to home page

Copyright © 2018 Tri-City Voice