Tri-City Voice Newspaper - What's Happening - Fremont, Hayward, Milpitas, Newark, Sunol and Union City, California


June 21, 2011 > County redistricting proposals

County redistricting proposals

By Simon Wong

Hayward City Council expressed its desire that the city remain whole and not be divided between county supervisorial districts as part of Redistricting proposals considered by the Alameda County Board of Supervisors in the wake of the 2010 Census.

A national census is conducted every 10 years to assess the size of the country's population. The data collected determine the number of seats each state has in the US House of Representatives and is used to distribute billions in federal funds to local communities.

Boundaries of the county's supervisorial districts must also be adjusted, as per the California Elections Code, so that each district has approximately equal populations. The US Constitution also requires equitable and effective representation for racial and language-minority groups. In addition, the Alameda County Board of Supervisors must consider topography; geography; cohesiveness, contiguity, integrity, and compactness of territory; and community of interests of the districts. Cities within a proposed district should be kept intact, wherever possible.

An ad-hoc redistricting committee, created by the Board of Supervisors, is overseeing the redistricting process and advising the Board.

There are four redistricting proposals, which affect Hayward, for Alameda County: one from County staff (Map A) and three from the Alameda County Citizens Redistricting Task Force, an independent citizen's group (Maps C&D - the Task Force withdrew Map B).

According to Map A, part of Hayward is assigned to District 2 and small sections of the city to Districts 3 and 4. District 2 consists of parts of Hayward, Fremont, Pleasanton and Unincorporated County; Newark and Union City are left intact. This proposal has a population of 305,682, including 144,169 Hayward residents.

District 3 covers parts of Hayward, Oakland, San Leandro and Unincorporated Alameda County (parts of Ashland and San Lorenzo) with a population of 301,614, of whom a dozen are Hayward residents.

District 4 includes of parts of Hayward, Oakland, San Leandro, Pleasanton, Dublin, and Unincorporated County (part of Fairview and all of Castro Valley) with 299,736 residents of whom five are in Hayward.

Map C splits Hayward between Districts 2 and 3. The former comprises Union City and Newark, parts of Fremont and Hayward and has a population of 295,812, including 63,477 Hayward residents.

District 3 consists of Alameda, parts of Unincorporated Alameda County (San Lorenzo, Cherryland, Ashland) and parts of San Leandro and Hayward and has 303,095 residents, including 80,709 in Hayward.

Map D also divides Hayward between Districts 2 and 3. District 2 includes the whole of Newark and Union City, parts of Fremont and Hayward and has a population of 302,199, of whom 74,519 reside in Hayward.

District 3 comprises Alameda, parts of San Leandro, Oakland, and Unincorporated Alameda County (all of San Lorenzo, Cherryland and Ashland) and has a population of 303,376, including 69,667 Hayward residents.

The Task Force has withdrawn Map B which would have placed Hayward in Districts 1 and 3. District 1 consists of Dublin, Pleasanton, Livermore, Sunol, Unincorporated Alameda County (Castro Valley, Fairview, Cherryland) and part of Hayward with a total population of 296,090; 7,032 of whom reside in Hayward.

District 3 covers San Leandro, part of Union City, part of Unincorporated Alameda County (San Lorenzo and Ashland) and part of Hayward with 299,279 residents, of whom 137,154 are in Hayward.

"The first option [Map A] gives us the best representation and influence at county level though the other options [Maps C and D] would enable us to participate in the election of two county supervisors. On balance, I'd prefer Hayward remain intact," stated Councilwoman Barbara Halliday. "It should be noted that Map A also keeps Union City and Newark intact, in the same district, and represents the least amount of change to existing boundaries."

Mayor Sweeney will write to the Alameda County Board of Supervisors and entities associated with the redistricting process informing them of Council's unanimous support for the boundaries depicted by Map A.

The county held a series of public hearings between May 28 and June 10, including one at Hayward City Hall on June 1, to consider proposals for boundary changes and to solicit public input.

The ad hoc Redistricting Committee is advising the Board, which is holding work sessions between June 20 and June 30, on the proposals. There will be a Public Hearing on June 28 followed by adoption of the final redistricting map on July 12 and a second reading on July 26. The public is encouraged to attend.

For more information and to view the proposed boundary maps for Alameda County's supervisorial districts, visit

Community members can also attend public hearings scheduled by the California Citizens Redistricting Commission. For information and the complete list of public hearings, visit Local hearings scheduled for the Bay Area are shown below:

Alameda County, Redistricting:

Tuesday, June 28
Alameda County Admin Bldg
1221 Oak St., Oakland
12:30 p.m. - 2:00 p.m.

California Citizens Redistricting Commission:

Saturday, June 25
City Hall
200 E. Santa Clara St., San Jose
2 p.m. - 5 p.m.

Monday, June 27
Fort Mason Center, Cowell Theater
Marina Blvd. and Buchanan St., San Francisco
6 p.m. - 9 p.m.

Home        Protective Services Classifieds   Community Resources   Archived Issues  
About Us   Advertising   Comments   Subscribe   TCV Store   Contact

Tri Cities Voice What's Happening - click to return to home page

Copyright © 2018 Tri-City Voice