Tri-City Voice Newspaper - What's Happening - Fremont, Hayward, Milpitas, Newark, Sunol and Union City, California


June 17, 2009 > MSJLL Braves head to TOC

MSJLL Braves head to TOC

Submitted By MSJLL Parents

The regular-season champ Braves rolled to the MSJLL Majors playoff championship as well, with an 11-1 victory over the Mets.

Ryan Henderson crafted a five-inning no-hitter, allowing only one unearned run. Henderson singled, doubled and homered, driving in five runs. Jacob Walter and Mark Gaffey keyed the offense, while Aaron Havard, Andrew Scott and Jason Kinner scored for the Braves.

Earlier in the playoffs, the Braves had edged the Angels 6-3 behind Nick Mason's thrifty relief pitching. Mason went 4 1/3 innings on just 37 pitches and helped himself with a two-run triple and an RBI single. Jordan Terbeek pitched into the fifth for the Angels.

The Braves now will face other District 14 teams in the single-elimination Tournament of Champions, beginning next Saturday.

Minor National
The regular-season champ Diamondbacks broke open a game in the late innings to stop the Angels and advance to the TOCs.

MSJLL names All-Stars
The league named five All-Star teams at closing ceremonies on Saturday, June 13. The teams will begin play in late June and early July in District 14. Majors level All-Stars have the opportunity to advance all the way to Williamsport, Penn., for the Little League World Series.

9-10 All-Stars: Dwayne Bhatia, Drew Burgess, Jacob DeVera, Brett Hansen, Ryan King, Joseph Lee, Justin Lu, Justin McFarland, Jason Tan, Daniel Torsney, Anthony Watkins, Alex Yin, Kevin Zhangxu. Manager: John Burgess. Coaches: Robert King, Matt Hansen.

10-11 team: Andrew Chang, Stanley Chiang, Kyle Dean, Chris Desiniotis, Mark Gaffey, Aaron Havard, Jonathan Lee, Sam Lowrey, Mudit Mittal, Ryland Mortlock, Nathan Pope, Michael Pyle, Spoorthy Vemula. Manager: Mike Gaffey. Coaches: Kevin Dean, Howard Lowrey.

Majors: Mitchell Broadwin, Nathan Chang, Dustin Chiang, Christian Flores, Ryan Henderson, Aneesh Kauralla, Austin King, Karthik Kribakaran, Nick Mason, Jagvir Tamber, Matthew Tang, Jacob Walter, Aurick Zhou. Manager: Joe Facha. Coaches: Dave Foster, Michael Chiang.

Juniors: Patrick Andresen, Jeff Chu, Brandon Facha, Kevin Finch, Brandon Fuhs, James Gaffey, Scott Havard, Kenny Jacoby, Devon Jones, Reid Mario, Ryan Mark, Wyatt Ott, Stuart Rosete, Brian Zucker. Manager: Wayne Chung. Coaches: Ed Hugo, Wen Chen, Mike Serrano.

Seniors: Sammy Brown, Joey Cantrell, Scott Dentinger, Ian Dickeson, Ramsey Fisher, Chris Gaines, Christopher Gonzalez, Dustin Koliner, Lukas Mickevicius, Aaron Okano, Sam Sanches, Tyler Strand, Robyn Torrence, Kyle Welker, Patrick Yang. Manager: Mark Rowell. Coaches: Len Sanches, Brian Curtis.

Home        Protective Services Classifieds   Community Resources   Archived Issues  
About Us   Advertising   Comments   Subscribe   TCV Store   Contact

Tri Cities Voice What's Happening - click to return to home page

Copyright © 2018 Tri-City Voice