Tri-City Voice Newspaper - What's Happening - Fremont, Hayward, Milpitas, Newark, Sunol and Union City, California


November 21, 2007 > Simpsons win FC Fremont Directors Cup

Simpsons win FC Fremont Directors Cup

Submitted By Simpsons' Coach Paul "Homer" Dunn
Photos By Paul Dunn

Simpsons, an Under-14 Girls Team, overcame four strong teams to take first place in the FC Fremont Directors Cup, U-14 Division last weekend, Nov. 10 - 11.

In the first game played on Saturday, Simpsons played a tough Blaze team. In the end, Simpsons were probably lucky to come away with a 1-1 tie after leading 1-0 at half time. During the afternoon match, Simpsons played much better and won 2-0 against the Devil Rays

Sunday morning the Simpsons played Blizzard. The first half was hard fought with Blizzard going ahead 1-0 after the first ten minutes. The Simpsons had to wait until seconds before the half-time whistle before Sarina Utamsing leveled the score at 1-1. In the second half, Simpsons came out very strong and scored two goals in the first 10 minutes of the half and defeated the Blizzard, 5-1.

The final game of the Directors Cup was against the Rage, and it was the toughest game of all, as both teams knew a win would give them the championship. Rage started very aggressively and mounted wave after wave of attack. Simpsons defended well and were lucky to go up, 1-0, on one of their few forays into the Rages' half of the field. The goal came on a nice solo effort by Simpsons' Jocelyn Reyes. The first half ended 1-0 with the Simpsons very lucky to have the lead. At the start of the second half Simpsons stepped up their game and created several chances.

However, Rage continued to play well; thus, there were scoring opportunities at both ends of the pitch. Madiha "Maddy" Raza almost put the game away fifteen minutes into the second half, only to see her shot beat the goal keeper but sail over the cross bar. In the frantic final minutes, Reyes took the ball down the right wing to the end line, cut inside beating one defender and made a perfect pass across the Rage goal face to the back post. Simpsons' Zarin Khan then calmly one-timed a shot past the stranded keeper into the far left corner of the net to make it 2-0 and give Simpsons the tournament championship.

The Simpsons' team is comprised of Casey Primeau, Jessica Spano, Jocelyn Reyes, Karina Paonessa, Kinsey Mead, Leilani Ruezga, Madiha Raza, Malinda Cheung, Megan Dunn, Molly Cory, Rebecca Dalrymple, Rhian Dunn, Sachi Patel, Sarina Utamsing, Tina Kantaria, and Zarin Khan. Tournament scorers for Simpsons were: Reyes (4), Utamsing (2), Paonessa, Mead, Patel and Khan, (1) each.

Home        Protective Services Classifieds   Community Resources   Archived Issues  
About Us   Advertising   Comments   Subscribe   TCV Store   Contact

Tri Cities Voice What's Happening - click to return to home page

Copyright © 2018 Tri-City Voice