Tri-Cities Voice Newspaper - What's Happening - Fremont, Union City, Newark California

July 19, 2005 > Over $18,000 in grants made to FUSD teachers

Over $18,000 in grants made to FUSD teachers

by Lara York

The Fremont Education Foundation (FEF) has announced the Fremont Unified School District teachers who have been awarded Innovative Education Grants for the 2005-06 school year. The recipients are Joan Keyser, Niles Elementary; Casey Morreira, Walters Jr. High; Daly Dominguez, Kennedy High; Dana Bailey, Brookvale Elementary; Linda Johnson, Walters Jr. High; Denise Mapelli, Brookvale Elementary; Rita Detar, Thornton Jr. High; Leslie Streight, Chadbourne Elementary; Louisa Lee, Centerville Jr. High; and Teresa Spix, Azevada Elementary.

FEF, through its Innovative Education Grants program, funds innovative, quality classroom activities in grades K-12 that enhance student achievement in academics, creativity, leadership, critical thinking, and visual and performing arts. FEF awards up to $3000 for each IEG.

"It's gratifying to be able to get money directly to classrooms to support teachers and students. We want to encourage teachers to work with us to apply next year," said FEF Vice-President and IEG Program Chair Nina Moore.

FEF, founded in 1991, instituted Innovative Education Grants (IEGs) as its first program. Since 1991, FEF has awarded 125 IEG's benefiting nearly 16,000 students throughout FUSD's schools. FEF hosts an annual Excellence in Education Gala each February to raise funds from its many corporate, foundation, and individual community member supporters.

Though many grant applications are submitted each year, FEF awards IEG's only after careful review by an evaluation committee consisting of educators, administrators, parents and FEF board members. This committee conducts "blind" review sessions without knowing the identity of the teacher or the school in order to ensure that funds are disbursed on merit alone.

FEF and Celebrate Fremont partnered together with FEF offering $3000 and up to $1000 per IEG to teachers who developed curriculum focusing on the theme of celebrating Fremont's 50th Anniversary during the 2005-06 school year. The recipients are: Jennifer Purnell, Brier Elementary; Michelle Snowden, Maloney Elementary; Pat Gordon, Maloney Elementary; and Kristy Leo, Hirsch Elementary.

FEF's new website at recognizes all teachers who have been IEG recipients. The website also provides a sample application form. Annual application packets go out in the fall. For further information, teachers can contact Parvin Ahmadi, principal at Parkmont Elementary at or Marsha Parker, principal at Mattos Elementary at or (510) 793-1359.

About Us   Current Issues   Press Dates   Archived Issues   Ad Rates   Classifieds  
Shopping & Dining Guide   Local Events   Your Comments   Subscribe  

Tri Cities Voice What's Happening - click to return to home page

Copyright© 2005 Tri-City Voice
Advertise in What's Happening - A Guide to the Tri-City Area Return to Tri-City Voice Home Page E-mail the Tri-City Voice About the Tri-City Voice Read a current issue of the Tri-City Voice online Archived Issues of the Tri-City Voice Tri-City Voice Advertising rates Dining and Shopping in the Tri-City Area Events in the Tri-City area Tell us what you think Return to the Tri-City Voice Home Page Subscribe to the Tri-City Voice Press dates/Deadlines